J. Brett Milbourn

Brett Milbourn - bw.jpg


Practice Areas

Bar Admissions

  • Missouri
  • Kansas
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri
  • U.S. District Court, District of Kansas
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
  • U.S. Court of Federal Claims
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit


  • Horn Aylward & Bandy, LLC, 2018
  • Co-founded Walters, Bender, Strohbehn and Vaughan P.C. 1991 - 2018
  • Linde, Thompson, Langworthy, Kohn, and Van Dyke  1986 - 1991


  • University of Tulsa College of Law, J.D. 1986
    • Member, Energy Law Journal, 1984−1986
    • Recipient, John Rogers College of Law Scholarship, 1985−1986
  • University of Kansas, C.S. in Journalisim, 1983
    • Edwin L. Dennis Scholarship

Professional Affiliations

  • The Missouri Bar
  • The Kansas Bar
  • Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association
  • Kansas Association of Justice, Board of Governors, 1999-2002
  • Johnson County Kansas Bar Association, President, 1997-1998
    • Board of Directors, 1992-1993
    • President, Young Lawyers Section, 1992-1993
  • Johnson County Kansas Bar Foundation, President, 2002-2003
    • Board of Trustees, 1997-Present
    • Silver Fellow

Honors and Awards

  • Martindale-Hubbell AV Premier and Judicial Edition rating
  • Johnson County Bar Foundation “LEGACY” award winner 2015 “for ceaseless efforts to fulfil the mission of the Foundation”
  • Super Lawyer, Kansas and Missouri Super Lawyers Magazine
  • Best of the Bar, Kansas City Business Journal
  • Outstanding Service Award to Legal Profession and Public, Kansas Bar Association, 1996 and 2016
  • Twice Elected Member Tenth Judicial Nominating Commission, Johnson County, Kansas 2012 and 2016


  • Leadership Kansas, 2001
  • Leadership Overland Park, Kansas, 1991
  • Chair, Sunflower House Valentine Gala, 1998
  • Appointed to nominating panel by U.S. Senator to recommend Kansas Federal District Judge, U.S. Attorney for Kansas, and U.S. Marshall for Kansas, 2000
  • Past Chair (2007−2008) and Organizing Committee Member (2007−present) for the Johnson County Bar Foundation’s Annual “Legacy Celebration”—an event to raise money for the Foundation’s numerous charities
  • REACH Health Care Foundation Founding Board Member, 2003−2006
    •   Legal Committee
    •  Finance Committee